Centre Culture Régional
Dudelange opderschmelz

1a rue du centenaire
L-3475 Dudelange

24.07.2021

18h00
opderschmelz

Ouverture des portes à 17h00

Prévente / Vorverkauf

25 € (+ FRAIS/VVK-GEBUHREN)

Caisse du soir /
Abendkasse

30 €

KULTURPASS: Entrée gratuite / Freier eintritt / Free Entry

  • FR
  • DE
  • EN
  • 22h00 / Hothouse Flowers

    Something amazing happens when Hothouse Flowers step onto the stage – something that has been shaped by over thirty years of singing and playing all over the world, yet no two shows have ever been the same! There is a sense of musical adventure, an impulse to reach new heights and depths in music where the unspoken aim is that the band and the audience become one and the world becomes a different place for a while.

    There is an unpredictable energy in the band that harkens back to their "Risk" days playing on the dancefloors of Dublin’s late-night clubs. They call upon their grand repertoire to create a show that is unique to the time and place. Improvisation can come at any point and allow the band express their brightest and their darkest influences. "Rock and Roll is not about safety or politeness, it is not about perfection either. It is expression and it is spirit." Humour is also never far from a Hothouse Flowers night. They do not take themselves seriously however, there is no mistaking the musical integrity among them as they open up to each other in musical dialogue.

    Fiachna, Liam and Peter are traditional musicians. This allows for moments of ancestral connection. From a Doors-like musical workout one minute, to an earnest and timeless offering to the memory of Currachaí na Tra Báine the next. A song inherited by Fiachna describing the blow inflicted upon a community and a family due to drowning. This moment and moments like these set the Flowers apart from almost any other band of their time and trade. They are carriers of culture and all of what that entails.

    Hothouse Flowers are a rock n’roll band, Hothouse Flowers are a traditional band, Hothouse Flowers are a soul band.. Hothouse Flowers are a jam band with their own brand of jam on both sides of the bread!

    Despite the bands lengthy career which is now well into its fourth decade there is a sense of unfinished business. Every night they want to play the best gig they have ever played and take the musical risks that can maybe make that possible. There are still songs to be written and emotions to share. Whether its in a tiny club, an arena or in a festival field there is a sense that the best is yet to come.

    The bands touring in Ireland, the UK and on the festival circuit prior to the global pandemic saw them reveal new material from their brand new album Let’s Do This Thing which they released on www.hothouseflowers.com. In March 2020 Let’s Do This Thing was released on all digital platforms just as their touring plans were all put on hold. The band can’t wait to safely get back to their natural habitat in front of a live audience!

    www.hothouseflowers.com

    ---

    20h30 / Beoga

    With an adventurous spirit and a passion for charting the road less travelled, Beoga have shown that Irish traditional music can take fresh new directions. 
    That world-facing potential was proven by the popularity of their collaborations with Ed Sheeran on his all-conquering ‘÷’ album. Those two songs - ‘Galway Girl’ and ‘Nancy Mulligan’ - have been streamed over a billion times on Spotify alone. Their creative connection continued with some huge outdoor shows, including an unforgettable once-in-a-lifetime moment when they joined Ed during his headline set at Glastonbury.
    Emboldened by the experience, Beoga focused on creating attention-grabbing hooks rather than exploratory instrumentals. Key to that new approach was identifying the collaborators who could help Beoga continue to explore fresh territory. They called on some old friends (the Grammy-nominated producer Jonny Coffer, Northern Irish artists Foy Vance and Ryan McMullan, plus regular touring partner Niall McCabe) alongside some fresh creatives in the shape of Lissie and Devin Dawson. Beoga put together a wealth of new material during sessions at Foy Vance’s studio in the Highlands.
    The result is Beoga’s forthcoming mini album ‘Carousel’, which will be previewed by the brand new single ‘In A Rocket’. It blends Beoga’s Irish-fuelled rhythms with Lissie’s Midwestern folk-pop as it looks ahead to better times to come.
    Beoga toured the world, released several albums and experienced things they’d never dreamed of doing, such as performing at BBC’s Proms in the Park. The Wall Street Journal even heralded them as, “‘The most exciting new traditional band to emerge from Ireland this century.” Now they’re poised to take that talent to a whole new audience.

    www.beogamusic.com

    ---

    19h10 Skerryvore

    Skerryvore is rock music from Scotland that draws its power and beauty from tradition. In the ballads, Alec Dalglish's incredible voice enchants the audience.
    This mix has earned the guys several awards since 2011: Live Act of the Year (STMA), Best CD and Best Singer/Songwriter (SNMA). To top it off, Skerryvore were the face of the worldwide "Visit Scotland" campaign. Scottish media like "The Herald" even see Skerryvore as the new Runrig. 
    The band has become so popular in Scotland that 3,000 tickets were sold in just 90 minutes for their anniversary concert in Oban last May. Sold out! But also in Germany, Switzerland and the Benelux there are more and more fans from tour to tour. In 2020 the band will celebrate their 10th anniversary with the release of their 5th album "Skerryvore Decade".
    The septet named themselves after the lighthouse on the "Isle of Tiree" in the west of Scotland. Lighthouses have been places full of mysticism and solitude since time immemorial. They show seafarers the way to a safe harbour or let them sail around dangerous cliffs. A great inspiration for a young band that sends luminous signals into the world with its extraordinary sound and captivating regularity and wins new fans every day. 
    When competent folk and rock musicians play together, it has the same effect as installing a state-of-the-art lighting system in a centuries-old lighthouse. On a proven foundation that has defied wind and waves, new beats and grooves can really flourish. One time it becomes a rousing instrumental, the other time a song that gets under your skin. A Skerryvore concert is always a varied experience!

    www.skerryvore.com

    ---

    18h00 / Schëppe Siwen

    Whoever is looking for party-style folk music would not necessarily think of Luxembourg as a first choice. However, if you risk looking across the borders, you will definitely make a find in the small Grand-Duchy when it comes to folk rock passion. While the band might have been founded more or less for fun as a trio on St. Patrick’s Day in a cult bar called ‘Vis-à-vis’, they have grown to become a true folk rock crowd puller in the last decade, pursuing a sound that is perfectly their own. 
    Built to impress, Schëppe Siwen have gone on to mix folk, rock, polka, reggae, punk and ska into a dense melting pot of sounds, pushing boundaries and proudly singing in their native Luxembourgish. The old world of Folk comes crashing together with more modern sounds, proving that language is no barrier to establishing a genuine connection. 
    With nine members and astonishing three trumpet players alongside an accordion, a flute and a fiddle, their music is hurtling through your ears, full of rampant energy and rapid-fire vocals that crash over a stream of shimmering accordion notes. 
    In 2020 they recorded their first live album "Live op der Schmelz", which they will present at this year's edition of the Zeltik Festival. The lucky ones, who had the chance to see them already live, know what to expect: a lot of sweat, a lot of dancing and a spectacular concert experience.

    www.scheppesiwen.com

Centre Culture Régional
Dudelange opderschmelz

1a rue du centenaire
L-3475 Dudelange

24.07.2021

18h00
opderschmelz

Ouverture des portes à 17h00

Prévente / Vorverkauf

25 € (+ FRAIS/VVK-GEBUHREN)

Caisse du soir /
Abendkasse

30 €

KULTURPASS: Entrée gratuite / Freier eintritt / Free Entry

  • FR
  • DE
  • EN
  • 22h00 / Hothouse Flowers

    Etwas Unglaubliches passiert, wenn die Hothouse Flowers die Bühne betreten - etwas, das durch mehr als dreißig Jahre des Singens und Spielens auf der ganzen Welt geformt wurde, und doch waren keine zwei Shows jemals die gleichen! Es gibt einen Sinn für musikalische Abenteuer, einen Drang, neue Höhen und Tiefen in der Musik zu erreichen, wobei es das unausgesprochene Ziel ist, dass die Band und das Publikum eins werden und die Welt für eine Weile zu einem anderen Ort wird.

    Es gibt eine unvorhersehbare Energie in der Band. Sie greifen auf ihr großes Repertoire zurück, um eine Show zu kreieren, die einzigartig für diese Zeit und diesen Ort ist. Die Improvisation kann zu jedem Zeitpunkt kommen und erlaubt es der Band, ihre hellsten und ihre dunkelsten Einflüsse auszudrücken. „Bei Rock and Roll geht es nicht um Sicherheit oder Höflichkeit, es geht auch nicht um Perfektion. Es ist Ausdruck und es ist Seele.“ Auch der Humor ist bei einem Hothouse Flowers-Abend nie ganz fern. Sie nehmen sich selbst nicht ernst, aber es gibt keinen Zweifel an der musikalischen Integrität unter ihnen, wenn sie sich im musikalischen Dialog gegenseitig öffnen

    Fiachna, Liam und Peter sind traditionelle Musiker. Dies ermöglicht Momente der ahnenhaften Verbindung. Von einem Doors-ähnlichen musikalischen Workout in der einen Minute bis hin zu einem ernsten und zeitlosen Opfer an die Erinnerung an Currachaí na Tra Báine in der nächsten. Ein von Fiachna geerbtes Lied, das den Schlag beschreibt, der einer Gemeinschaft durch das Ertrinken einer Familie zugefügt wurde. Dieser Moment und Momente wie diese heben die Flowers von fast jeder anderen Band ihrer Zeit und ihres Metiers ab. Sie sind Träger von Kultur und allem, was das mit sich bringt. 

    Hothouse Flowers sind eine Rock'n'Roll-Band, Hothouse Flowers sind eine traditionelle Band, Hothouse Flowers sind eine Soul-Band... Hothouse Flowers sind eine Jam-Band mit ihrer eigenen Marke von Marmelade auf beiden Seiten des Brotes!

    Trotz der langen Karriere der Band, die nun schon weit in das vierte Jahrzehnt hineinreicht, gibt es ein Gefühl der Unvollendetheit. Jeden Abend wollen sie den besten Gig spielen, den sie je gespielt haben und die musikalischen Risiken eingehen, die das vielleicht möglich machen. Es gibt immer noch Songs zu schreiben und Emotionen zu teilen. Ob in einem winzigen Club, einer Arena oder auf einem Festivalgelände, es gibt das Gefühl, dass das Beste noch vor ihnen liegt.

    www.hothouseflowers.com

    ---

    20h30 / Beoga

    Mit ihrem Abenteuergeist und ihrer Leidenschaft für verkannte Musik haben Beoga gezeigt, dass traditionelle irische Musik neue Wege gehen kann. 

    Dieses internationale Potenzial wurde weltweit populär durch die Zusammenarbeit mit Ed Sheeran auf seinem bekannten Album „÷“. Die Songs – „Galway Girl“ und „Nancy Mulligan“ - wurden allein auf Spotify über eine Milliarde Mal gestreamt. Ihre kreative Zusammenarbeit setzte sich bei einigen großen Open Air-Shows fort, darunter Eds Headline-Set in Glastonbury.

    Beflügelt durch diese Erfahrung, konzentrierte sich Beoga darauf, starke „Hooks“ zu erschaffen, anstatt Instrumentalstücke auszuarbeiten. Der Schlüssel zu dieser neuen Herangehensweise war die Suche nach Mitwirkenden, die Beoga dabei helfen konnten, neues Terrain zu erkunden. Neben einigen alten Freunden (dem Grammy-nominierten Produzenten Jonny Coffer, den nordirischen Künstlern Foy Vance und Ryan McMullan sowie dem regelmäßigen Tourpartner Niall McCabe) kamen mit Lissie und Devin Dawson auch einige neue Musiker/innen hinzu. Während der Sessions im Studio von Foy Vance in den Highlands hat Beoga viel neues Material zusammengestellt. Das Ergebnis ist Beogas Mini-Album „Carousel“, mit der brandneuen Single „In A Rocket“. Es vermischen sich Beogasirisch angehauchte Rhythmen mit Lissies Midwestern-Folk-Pop und prophezeit musikalisch bessere Zeiten. Beoga tourten um die Welt, veröffentlichten mehrere Alben und erlebten Dinge, von denen sie nie zu träumen gewagt hätten, wie zum Beispiel einen Auftritt bei den BBC Proms in the Park. Das Wall Street Journal bezeichnete sie sogar als „die aufregendste neue traditionelle Band Irlands dieses Jahrhunderts.“ Jetzt sind sie bereit, ihr ganzes Können einem ganz neuen Publikum vorzustellen. 

    www.beogamusic.com

    ---

    19h10 Skerryvore

    Skerryvore ist Rockmusik aus Schottland, die ihre Kraft und Schönheit aus der Tradition zieht. Bei den Balladen verzaubert Alec Dalglish‘s unglaubliche Stimme das Publikum.

    Dieser Mix hat den Jungs seit 2011 mehrere Awards eingebracht: Live Act of the Year (STMA), beste CD und bester Singer/Songwriter (SNMA). Zu dem waren Skerryvore das Gesicht der weltweiten „Visit Scotland“ Kampagne. Schottische Medien wie „The Herald“ sehen in Skerryvore gar die neuen Runrig. 

    In Schottland ist die Band inzwischen so angesagt, dass zum Jubiläums Konzert im Mai letz- ten Jahres in Oban in nur 90 Minuten 3.000 Karten verkauft wurden. Ausverkauft! Aber auch in D, CH und Benelux werden es von Tournee zu Tournee mehr und mehr Fans. Im Jahr 2020 feiert die Band ihr 10-jähriges Jubiläum mit der Veröffentlichung ihres 5. Albums „Skerryvore Decade“.

    Das Septett hat sich nach dem Leuchtturm auf der „Isle of Tiree“ im Westen Schottlands benannt. Leuchttürme sind seit Menschengedenken Orte voller Mystik und Einsamkeit. Sie weisen Seefahrern den Weg in den sicheren Hafen oder lassen sie gefährliche Klippen umschiffen. Eine tolle Inspiration für eine junge Band, die mit ihrem außergewöhnlichen Sound und einer bestechenden Regelmäßigkeit Leuchtsignale in die Welt sendet und täglich neue Fans gewinnt. 

    Wenn kompetente Folk- und Rockmusiker miteinander spielen, hat es denselben Effekt wie eine hochmoderne Lichtanlage in einen Jahrhunderte alten Leuchtturm einzubauen. Auf einem bewährten Fundament, das Wind und Wellen getrotzt hat, können sich neue Beats und Grooves so richtig gut entfalten. Einmal wird daraus ein mitreißendes Instrumental, das andere Mal ein unter die Haut gehender Song. Ein Skerryvore Konzert ist reich an Abwechslung!

    www.skerryvore.com

    ---

    18h00 / Schëppe Siwen

    Während die Band mehr oder weniger aus Spaß als Trio am St. Patrick's Day in einer Kultkneipe gegründet wurde, hat sie sich in den letzten zehn Jahren zu einem echten Folk-Rock-Publikumsmagneten entwickelt und verfolgt ihren ganz eigenen Sound. 

    Schëppe Siwen gelingt es, Folk, Rock, Polka, Reggae, Punk und Ska zu einem dichten Klangschmelztiegel zu vermischen, Grenzen zu verschieben und stolz in ihrer luxemburgischen Muttersprache zu singen. Die alte Welt des Folk wird mit moderneren Klängen konfrontiert und sie beweisen, dass Sprache kein Hindernis ist, um eine echte Verbindung herzustellen. 

    Mit neun Mitgliedern und wundervollen drei Trompeteter die neben einem Akkordeon, einer Flöte und einer Fiedel harmonieren, rast die Musik mit unbändiger Energie durch die Ohren, sodass der rasante Gesang über die flirrender Akkordeonnoten krachen.

    Im Jahr 2020 haben sie ihr erstes Live-Album „Live op der Schmelz“ aufgenommen, dass sie bei der diesjährigen Ausgabe des Zeltik-Festivals präsentieren werden. Die Glücklichen, die sie bereits live erleben durften, wissen, was sie erwartet: viel Schweiß, viel Tanz und ein spektakuläres Konzerterlebnis.

    www.scheppesiwen.com