Centre Culture Régional
Dudelange opderschmelz

1a rue du centenaire
L-3475 Dudelange

24.07.2021

18h00
opderschmelz

Ouverture des portes à 17h00

Prévente / Vorverkauf

25 € (+ FRAIS/VVK-GEBUHREN)

Caisse du soir /
Abendkasse

30 €

KULTURPASS: Entrée gratuite / Freier eintritt / Free Entry

  • FR
  • DE
  • EN
  • 22h00 / Hothouse Flowers

    Something amazing happens when Hothouse Flowers step onto the stage – something that has been shaped by over thirty years of singing and playing all over the world, yet no two shows have ever been the same! There is a sense of musical adventure, an impulse to reach new heights and depths in music where the unspoken aim is that the band and the audience become one and the world becomes a different place for a while.

    There is an unpredictable energy in the band that harkens back to their "Risk" days playing on the dancefloors of Dublin’s late-night clubs. They call upon their grand repertoire to create a show that is unique to the time and place. Improvisation can come at any point and allow the band express their brightest and their darkest influences. "Rock and Roll is not about safety or politeness, it is not about perfection either. It is expression and it is spirit." Humour is also never far from a Hothouse Flowers night. They do not take themselves seriously however, there is no mistaking the musical integrity among them as they open up to each other in musical dialogue.

    Fiachna, Liam and Peter are traditional musicians. This allows for moments of ancestral connection. From a Doors-like musical workout one minute, to an earnest and timeless offering to the memory of Currachaí na Tra Báine the next. A song inherited by Fiachna describing the blow inflicted upon a community and a family due to drowning. This moment and moments like these set the Flowers apart from almost any other band of their time and trade. They are carriers of culture and all of what that entails.

    Hothouse Flowers are a rock n’roll band, Hothouse Flowers are a traditional band, Hothouse Flowers are a soul band.. Hothouse Flowers are a jam band with their own brand of jam on both sides of the bread!

    Despite the bands lengthy career which is now well into its fourth decade there is a sense of unfinished business. Every night they want to play the best gig they have ever played and take the musical risks that can maybe make that possible. There are still songs to be written and emotions to share. Whether its in a tiny club, an arena or in a festival field there is a sense that the best is yet to come.

    The bands touring in Ireland, the UK and on the festival circuit prior to the global pandemic saw them reveal new material from their brand new album Let’s Do This Thing which they released on www.hothouseflowers.com. In March 2020 Let’s Do This Thing was released on all digital platforms just as their touring plans were all put on hold. The band can’t wait to safely get back to their natural habitat in front of a live audience!

    www.hothouseflowers.com

    ---

    20h30 / Beoga

    With an adventurous spirit and a passion for charting the road less travelled, Beoga have shown that Irish traditional music can take fresh new directions. 
    That world-facing potential was proven by the popularity of their collaborations with Ed Sheeran on his all-conquering ‘÷’ album. Those two songs - ‘Galway Girl’ and ‘Nancy Mulligan’ - have been streamed over a billion times on Spotify alone. Their creative connection continued with some huge outdoor shows, including an unforgettable once-in-a-lifetime moment when they joined Ed during his headline set at Glastonbury.
    Emboldened by the experience, Beoga focused on creating attention-grabbing hooks rather than exploratory instrumentals. Key to that new approach was identifying the collaborators who could help Beoga continue to explore fresh territory. They called on some old friends (the Grammy-nominated producer Jonny Coffer, Northern Irish artists Foy Vance and Ryan McMullan, plus regular touring partner Niall McCabe) alongside some fresh creatives in the shape of Lissie and Devin Dawson. Beoga put together a wealth of new material during sessions at Foy Vance’s studio in the Highlands.
    The result is Beoga’s forthcoming mini album ‘Carousel’, which will be previewed by the brand new single ‘In A Rocket’. It blends Beoga’s Irish-fuelled rhythms with Lissie’s Midwestern folk-pop as it looks ahead to better times to come.
    Beoga toured the world, released several albums and experienced things they’d never dreamed of doing, such as performing at BBC’s Proms in the Park. The Wall Street Journal even heralded them as, “‘The most exciting new traditional band to emerge from Ireland this century.” Now they’re poised to take that talent to a whole new audience.

    www.beogamusic.com

    ---

    19h10 Skerryvore

    Skerryvore is rock music from Scotland that draws its power and beauty from tradition. In the ballads, Alec Dalglish's incredible voice enchants the audience.
    This mix has earned the guys several awards since 2011: Live Act of the Year (STMA), Best CD and Best Singer/Songwriter (SNMA). To top it off, Skerryvore were the face of the worldwide "Visit Scotland" campaign. Scottish media like "The Herald" even see Skerryvore as the new Runrig. 
    The band has become so popular in Scotland that 3,000 tickets were sold in just 90 minutes for their anniversary concert in Oban last May. Sold out! But also in Germany, Switzerland and the Benelux there are more and more fans from tour to tour. In 2020 the band will celebrate their 10th anniversary with the release of their 5th album "Skerryvore Decade".
    The septet named themselves after the lighthouse on the "Isle of Tiree" in the west of Scotland. Lighthouses have been places full of mysticism and solitude since time immemorial. They show seafarers the way to a safe harbour or let them sail around dangerous cliffs. A great inspiration for a young band that sends luminous signals into the world with its extraordinary sound and captivating regularity and wins new fans every day. 
    When competent folk and rock musicians play together, it has the same effect as installing a state-of-the-art lighting system in a centuries-old lighthouse. On a proven foundation that has defied wind and waves, new beats and grooves can really flourish. One time it becomes a rousing instrumental, the other time a song that gets under your skin. A Skerryvore concert is always a varied experience!

    www.skerryvore.com

    ---

    18h00 / Schëppe Siwen

    Whoever is looking for party-style folk music would not necessarily think of Luxembourg as a first choice. However, if you risk looking across the borders, you will definitely make a find in the small Grand-Duchy when it comes to folk rock passion. While the band might have been founded more or less for fun as a trio on St. Patrick’s Day in a cult bar called ‘Vis-à-vis’, they have grown to become a true folk rock crowd puller in the last decade, pursuing a sound that is perfectly their own. 
    Built to impress, Schëppe Siwen have gone on to mix folk, rock, polka, reggae, punk and ska into a dense melting pot of sounds, pushing boundaries and proudly singing in their native Luxembourgish. The old world of Folk comes crashing together with more modern sounds, proving that language is no barrier to establishing a genuine connection. 
    With nine members and astonishing three trumpet players alongside an accordion, a flute and a fiddle, their music is hurtling through your ears, full of rampant energy and rapid-fire vocals that crash over a stream of shimmering accordion notes. 
    In 2020 they recorded their first live album "Live op der Schmelz", which they will present at this year's edition of the Zeltik Festival. The lucky ones, who had the chance to see them already live, know what to expect: a lot of sweat, a lot of dancing and a spectacular concert experience.

    www.scheppesiwen.com

Centre Culture Régional
Dudelange opderschmelz

1a rue du centenaire
L-3475 Dudelange

24.07.2021

18h00
opderschmelz

Ouverture des portes à 17h00

Prévente / Vorverkauf

25 € (+ FRAIS/VVK-GEBUHREN)

Caisse du soir /
Abendkasse

30 €

KULTURPASS: Entrée gratuite / Freier eintritt / Free Entry

  • FR
  • DE
  • EN
  • 22h00 / Hothouse Flowers

    Quelque chose d'étonnant se produit lorsque les Hothouse Flowers montent sur scène - quelque chose qui a été façonné par plus de trente ans de chant et de jeu dans le monde entier, et pourtant, aucun spectacle ne se ressemble ! Il y a un sens d'aventure musicale, une impulsion pour atteindre de nouveaux sommets et de nouvelles profondeurs dans la musique, où le but non-dit est que le groupe et le public ne fassent qu'un et que le monde devienne différent pour un moment.

    Le groupe dégage une énergie imprévisible. Ils font appel à leur grand répertoire pour créer un spectacle unique en son temps et son lieu. L'improvisation peut intervenir à tout moment et permet au groupe d'exprimer ses influences les plus brillantes et les plus sombres. « Le rock and roll n'est pas une question de sécurité ou de politesse, il ne s'agit pas non plus de perfection. C'est l'expression et c'est l'esprit. » L'humour n'est jamais loin non plus d'une soirée avec les Hothouse Flowers. Ils ne se prennent pas au sérieux, mais il est impossible de se méprendre sur l'intégrité musicale qui règne parmi eux lorsqu'ils s'ouvrent les uns aux autres dans un dialogue musical.

    Fiachna, Liam et Peter sont des musiciens traditionnels. Cela permet des moments de connexion ancestrale. D'une séance d'entraînement musical à la Doors une minute, à une offrande sérieuse et intemporelle à la mémoire de Currachaí na Tra Báine la minute suivante. Une chanson héritée de Fiachna décrivant le coup porté à une communauté et à une famille par une noyade. Ce moment et des moments comme celui-ci distinguent les Flowers de presque tous les autres groupes de leur époque et de leur métier. Ils sont porteurs de culture et de tout ce que cela implique. 

    Hothouse Flowers est un groupe de rock n'roll, Hothouse Flowers est un groupe traditionnel, Hothouse Flowers est un groupe de soul... Hothouse Flowers est un jam band avec sa propre marque de confiture des deux côtés du pain !

    Malgré la longue carrière du groupe, qui en est maintenant à sa quatrième décennie, il y a un sentiment d'inachevé. Chaque soir, ils veulent jouer le meilleur concert qu'ils aient jamais joué et prendre les risques musicaux qui peuvent rendre cela possible. Il y a encore des chansons à écrire et des émotions à partager. Que ce soit dans un petit club, une arène ou un festival, on a le sentiment que le meilleur reste à venir.

    www.hothouseflowers.com

    ---

    20h30 / Beoga

    Avec leur esprit d'aventure et leur passion pour les musiques méconnues, Beoga ont montré que la musique traditionnelle irlandaise pouvait innover.

    Ce potentiel international a été popularisé à travers le monde grâce à leur collaboration avec Ed Sheeran sur son célèbre album « ÷ ». Les chansons – « Galway Girl » et « Nancy Mulligan » - ont été écoutées plus d'un milliard de fois rien que sur Spotify. Leur collaboration créative s'est poursuivie lors de plusieurs grands spectacles en plein air, dont le concert d'Ed en tête d'affiche à Glastonbury.

    Inspiré par cette expérience, Beoga s'est concentré sur la création de « hooks » accrocheurs plutôt que de se focaliser uniquement sur l'instrumentalisation. La clé de cette nouvelle approche était de trouver des collaborateurs qui pourraient aider Beoga à explorer de nouveaux terrains. Aux côtés de quelques vieux amis (le producteur Jonny Coffer, nommé aux Grammy Awards, les artistes nord-irlandais Foy Vance et Ryan McMullan, et le partenaire de tournée habituel Niall McCabe) sont venus s'ajouter de nouveaux musiciens, Lissie et Devin Dawson. Lors de sessions au studio de Foy Vance dans les Highlands, Beoga ont composé beaucoup de nouveaux morceaux.

    Le résultat est le mini-album de Beoga « Carousel », avec le tout nouveau single « In A Rocket ». Il mélange les rythmes teintés de l'Irlande de Beoga avec la folk-pop du Midwest de Lissie et prophétise musicalement des jours meilleurs.

    Beoga ont fait le tour du monde, a sorti plusieurs albums et a vécu des expériences dont ils n’avaient jamais rêvé, comme se produire aux BBC Proms in the Park. Le Wall Street Journal les a même qualifiés de "nouveau groupe traditionnel le plus excitant du siècle en Irlande". Ils sont maintenant prêts à montrer toutes leurs talents à un tout nouveau public.

    www.beogamusic.com

    ---

    19h10 Skerryvore

    Skerryvore est un ensemble de musique rock venu d'Écosse qui puise sa puissance et sa beauté dans la tradition. Lors des ballades, la voix incroyable d'Alec Dalglish enchante le public.

    Ce mélange a leur valu plusieurs récompenses depuis 2011 : "Live Act of the Year" (STMA), "Best CD" et "Best Singer/Songwriter" (SNMA). Pour couronner le tout, Skerryvore a été le visage de la campagne mondiale "Visit Scotland". Les médias écossais comme "The Herald" considèrent même Skerryvore comme le nouveau Runrig.

    En Écosse, le groupe est désormais si populaire que 3 000 billets ont été vendus en seulement 90 minutes pour le concert anniversaire à Oban en mai dernier. Sold out ! Mais aussi en Allemagne, en Suisse et au Benelux, il y a de plus en plus de fans de tournée en tournée En 2020, le groupe célèbre son 10e anniversaire avec la sortie de son 5ème album « Skerryvore Decade ».

    Le septuor s'est nommé d'après le phare de l'île de Tiree, à l'ouest de l'Écosse. Les phares sont des lieux chargés de mysticisme et de solitude depuis des temps ancestraux. Ils indiquent aux marins le chemin vers un port sûr ou leur permettent de contourner des falaises dangereuses. Une grande inspiration pour un jeune groupe qui envoie des signaux lumineux dans le monde avec un son extraordinaire et une régularité captivante et qui gagne chaque jour de nouveaux fans.

    Lorsque des musiciens folk et rock compétents jouent ensemble, cela a le même effet que d'installer un système d'éclairage ultramoderne dans un phare vieux de plusieurs siècles. Sur une base éprouvée qui a défié le vent et les vagues, les nouveaux rythmes et les nouveaux grooves peuvent vraiment s'épanouir. Tantôt il s'agit d'un instrumental entraînant, tantôt d'une chanson qui vous colle à la peau. Un concert de Skerryvore est riche en variété !

    www.skerryvore.com

    Schëppe Siwen / 18h00

    Même si le groupe a été fondé plus ou moins pour s'amuser, sous la forme d'un trio, le jour de la Saint-Patrick, dans un bar culte, il est devenu, au cours de la dernière décennie, un véritable groupe folk-rock qui attire les foules avec un son qui lui est parfaitement propre.

    Schëppe Siwen continue à mixer le folk, le rock, la polka, le reggae, le punk et le ska dans un melting-pot dense de sons qui savent repousser les frontières en chantant fièrement dans leur langue maternelle, le luxembourgeois. Le vieux monde du folk affronte des sons plus modernes, prouvant que la langue n'est pas une barrière pour établir une véritable connexion.

    Avec neuf membres et l'étonnant trio de trompettistes aux côtés d'un accordéon, d'une flûte et d'un violon, leur musique se déploie dans vos oreilles, en pleine énergie, aux voix rapides qui s'écrasent au-dessus des notes rayonnantes de l’accordéon.

    En 2020, ils ont enregistré leur premier album live « Live op der Schmelz », qu'ils présenteront cette année au festival Zeltik. Les chanceux, qui les ont déjà vu en live savent à quoi s'attendre : beaucoup de sueur, beaucoup de danse et une expérience de concert spectaculaire.

    www.scheppesiwen.com